"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

I have an unhealthy relationship with my railcard

The best thing about being an American in England is that travel does not phase me.

Because England has an extensive public transport network, many people navigate it everyday. The English tend to stick to the networks they know. They can get about an hour away from home before a journey strikes them as terribly far.

Yet, as an American, I think very little of spending 2, 3 hours in transit to see someone. When I don’t have to drive, the journey is also much more straight-forward. I hop on the train, and I get anywhere I want to go.

It’s absolutely brilliant to have Canterbury, Cambridge, and London all within my grasp on the weekend. It’s also incredibly outstanding to have a student railcard that allows me to save 1/3 on all of my transportation costs. I have recouped the cost of the railcard several times over!

And I’m off today for a full day of traveling, yet again.

3 responses

  1. Sigh! You’re making me wistful at several levels.
    * A functional rail system for its own sake because dysfunctional is never good.
    * The energy efficiency of steel-on-steel.
    * The ability to relax while traveling – maybe with a Kindle or something :-).
    * And, at “the 30,000 foot level,” a built environment that does not force us into automobiles for 90% of life’s necessities.

    22 January 2011 at 12:27 pm

    • I love not needing a car. The cost of petrol alone here does not make it the most viable form of transport.

      22 January 2011 at 12:32 pm

  2. DN

    And as I stated previously, there is nothing that is “odd” traveling to Paris for the day 🙂 We are a very mobile society.

    26 January 2011 at 1:11 am

Leave a Reply

