"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

When Life Halts

Originally my plan to get the life in England series going was to pick up where I had left off, but those gap-filling posts will arrive later.  This week has been marked by two four-letter words: sick and snow.  As such, I basically have been in my flat since Wednesday, grateful for the weather circumstances.

Being sick is no fun at all.  I can tell that I have transitioned more to being an adult as I would just rather be sick, get it done with, and then get back to work.  We’ve had a bit of a plague going around the Institute.  Sometimes it is a simple matter of time before everyone succumbs.

The snow fell as I focused my energies on feeling better.  People started making comments that the city was going to shut down.  I grew up in Minnesota, so a bit of snow is “No big deal.”  Yet Minnesotans also employ snow plows en masse.  The English, on the other hand, just seem to try to drive over the top of everything.  Compacting the snow generally causes it to melt and refreeze, giving a sheet of ice.  When vehicles became stuck, people left them in the streets.  It all left quite a mess.

For my part though, I was grateful for the chance to get some work done at home.  We’re at the end of the term already.  On Thursday I have a group presentation I’ve been diligently preparing.

Today temperatures are up to 7 degrees Celsius (45 degrees Fahrenheit for my American friends), rendering the snow a memory.  I’m also feeling considerably better, which also helps matters significantly.

This post has been brought to you by the letter “S.”

5 responses

  1. Rukundo

    Well, thank heavens that the sky opened and fluffed away the irritating snow! one day of excitement turns into almost a week of agony..certainly i have to pay the fines to library for my over-dues!

    4 December 2010 at 12:49 pm

    • They suspended fines at BLDS yesterday to deal with the snow and difficulty getting to campus, so you might be okay after all. I rather like the snow, but England’s preparedness leaves much to be desired.

      4 December 2010 at 1:40 pm

  2. Where does all that tax money go to?

    14 December 2010 at 4:14 am

    • I’m not entirely sure. The UK has a system called a Council Tax that is supposed to pay for things like snow removal. However, the UK has a range of social services paid for out of tax money. The NHS is fed entirely by a tax base.

      28 December 2010 at 6:55 pm

  3. Ali

    Noting your observations from a purely American – Minnesotan – stance, it seems odd that people would abandon their car. Leaving cars in the middle of the road, doesn’t that serve to jam up the roads if the individual who left it there doesn’t get it back in time?

    I know how you feel about sickness – I believe the same sickness you affecting you is what we have in Boston. It took me well over a week to get over this cold – being productive indoors was much appreciated.

    🙂

    25 December 2010 at 2:29 am

Leave a Reply

