"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

Crazy Ideas

I really like anthropologists.  They tend to be extremely open-minded and consider non-traditional ideas.  This week, I had the ability to sit in on a really fascinating global development lecture.  Our speakers have been very critical of international organizations.  If the speaker fails to be critical, then the students will certainly be.

After the seminar today, a group of students got talking about how to reform international organizations.  We have the options of reforming from in the organizations or from exterior of the organizations.  All of this discourse has me thinking: If I were going to a WTO (or G20, or IMF, or really any large organization) gathering, what sort of protest sign would I want to carry?  A bunch of students thought that it would be intriguing to create a particular protest section at these gatherings as an alumni event.

So I went to the anthropologist convening one of our courses and suggested that we create a wall of protest signs we would carry at one of these large gatherings here on campus.  I targeted the anthropologist because I knew I would likely have a receptive audience.

Sure enough, I was right.  But I do think asking a professor if we could create a collage of protest signs at the end of the term is one of my more ridiculous serious ideas I have had in a while.

Seriously though, I am loving the open-minded and creative academic culture here.  If we manage to create such a wall by the end of the term, I’ll be sure to post some pictures.

Leave a Reply

