"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

Catching my breath

On Saturdays, I offer an update regarding my life in England for family and friends so that is why these posts seem a little bland.

Coursework has started in full force.  Different institutions do things so differently.  While all of my classes involve 3 hours of instruction, we halve the periods with a common lecture lasting an hour and a half and then dividing into smaller discussion groups for the remainder of the time.  With the breaks between various sessions, I can almost count on needing to be in the building for a standard working day.  I have a 30-60 minute commute depending on what the buses are doing so I find reasons to stick around the building.  Then I can go home.

The work-home structure brings some balance to my day.  In making dinner and catching up on all of my online communications, I pretty much spend out the rest of my evenings.  There is always something to do.  I traveled two weekends ago and had an all-day Saturday workshop last weekend.  And now I find myself with a weekend to make my flat feel a bit more like a home.  Right now it looks more like laundry and some haphazard unpacking of books has hit it.

Academically, I find development a positively fascinating subject to study.  I have become quite adept at using Twitter to source various news servers.  My ability to read across a wide range of contemporary events comes in handy; I’m grateful both for the high school discipline of learning to ask questions about the news and for the college discipline of keeping up with headlines regularly on my own accord.

It is rather amusing to watch people roll their eyes regarding the importance of reflective learning.  And it is enlightening to discover how a different institution encourages people to engage in reflective learning.  But this weekend involves finding some space for breathing local air and tending to a range of things.

Leave a Reply

