"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

Culinary Adventures

I really like cooking.  A student budget also stretches much further when one cooks relative to the expense of eating out daily.  After spending some time at home, I received some pointers from my dad regarding different culinary techniques.  Additionally, the whole genre of cooking reality television manages to get my attention from time to time.

But sometimes I over-stretch myself in the kitchen and do things that I just know probably shouldn’t be done.  A couple of days ago, I tried my hand at a cheese sauce.

Cheese can be exceptionally tricky.  It tends to form huge stringy clumps.  But apparently, if you melt cheese into warm butter and milk mixture slowly, you can do alright with a cheese sauce.

A key ingredient though in this process is flour.  Silly me, I tried to minimize the presence of this ingredient.  Bad idea.  I had grand plans of serving my cheese sauce over rice and green beans.  I didn’t realize how badly I had messed up the sauce until I poured it out on my plate and discovered the lake of separated cheese sauce nearly overflowing my plate.  It also didn’t help much that the cheese clumped out right at the end of the pouring.

Lucky for me, I’m a graduate student where “inedible” is quite the unknown category.  And I really like green beans so I took time to excavate them from the clump of cheese.  The left-overs were truly non-salvageable, and it took just about everything I could do so as to not have an absolute disaster in the kitchen.

But, lake of failed cheese sauce aside, I do seem to be doing a fairly reasonable job on the cooking and eating front.  New places carry new adventures.  When you throw a national border into the mix, you’re bound to be exploring new things.  However, never again will I attempt cheese sauce sans flour.

2 responses

  1. Rae

    In my experience cheese sauce is a lot easier with some cheeses than others. But even when it clumps, it always tastes okay. Or maybe I’m even less picky than a grad student?!

    19 October 2010 at 7:17 pm

    • My issue was more that I had far too much butter and milk so I had the total lake effect that lacked anything of cheese. I ate it, it tasted okay, but it was totally beyond consideration for leftovers.

      19 October 2010 at 7:37 pm

Leave a Reply

