"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

Why the English text

I’ll admit it. I like to talk on the phone. I will spend hours upon hours talking to dear friends on the phone. It makes me happy and collapses the distance between persons.  As I have gotten to know more and more friends from England, I discover that they think my phone habits to be rather absurd.

Well, now I know why.

I went shopping today for a mobile phone as a way of being in touch with people.  I thought I would bring my phone habits out of the early age of cellular phones and try to find a phone that would let me manage my email from the bus.  So now I am looking at multiple functions on my phone.

I was a bit surprised when I actually looked at phone plans.  I have grown totally accustomed to free nights and weekends calling.  It’s one of the main reasons why I call people as much as I do.  Calls are free when people happen to be available, so why not?  I also love free in-network calling.  Most of my friends have the same phone plan that I do so it works wonderfully.  Again, if the calls are free, why not?  It has always frustrated me a bit when I meet friends big on text messaging because for the longest time, I didn’t carry a text message plan beyond being charged $0.10 to send or receive a text message.

In England, you can reverse the standard assumptions.  Here, it is fairly easy to find unlimited text options and you pay highly for the right to call people.  Granted I may not be understanding the tariffs accurately, but it seems that people pay 20-25p per minute to make a mobile phone call.  It doesn’t matter who you are calling or what time of day you are calling.  One bright spot is that incoming calls are free.

At those rates, I think I’m going to get better at text messaging.  And who knows?  I just might break my cell phone habit.

5 responses

  1. Eli

    It all sounds so interesting. Keep us posted. We’ll be praying for you.

    2 October 2010 at 1:05 am

    • Yeah, on Saturdays, I hope to share something specific to my experiences in England. Prayers always appreciated!

      2 October 2010 at 8:49 am

  2. Brian

    I’m trying to suppress the sin of envy :). Give Mark and Neil a big hug from me !!

    2 October 2010 at 1:56 pm

    • Vicarious living is not really the sin of envy. I will be sure to pass the hugs 🙂

      2 October 2010 at 1:57 pm

  3. Sigrun

    Oh yeah, the Brits like to text. I used to spend about £25 a year (!) on my pay as you go phone. I now spend £10 a month for 500 txts and 100 minutes. Anything extra costs more.

    4 October 2010 at 2:40 pm

Leave a Reply

