"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

Improvising our way to life

It’s been a while since I’ve had featured good music on my blog; I figure it’s about time.  Yet it is hard to find good music when a) I’ve been living under a rock working at camp and b) my friend who I can almost always count on for good music has been also hiding under a rock working on school projects.  But you can almost always find someone having a ton of fun with good music.  So I present

Imogen Heap has recently made all of her live improvisation tracks available for download.  I’m a big fan of the Nashville and Los Angeles songs.  Generally, I enjoy improvisation.  I competed in extemporaneous speaking in high school, good improv comedy is one of my favorite things ever and I have a profound respect for people who can adjust things on the fly.

Yet so much of what we do as human beings is to improvise.  Things don’t always go as planned.  Flexibility, adjustments and uncertainty help ground us in the reality of our limitations.  But within that frame, we find life as we learn to trust, breathe and feel.  It takes guts to produce something never before seen.  But every moment in the future has perennial newness that invites the leap of faith.

Leave a Reply

