"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

On television

Last night, I had the opportunity to watch some of a National Geographic special entitled How the Earth Changed History.  It started Sunday and finishes tonight.  In particular, I watched a fabulous episode discussing how humans came to settle atop major fault lines because the processes at fault lines force valuable resources to the surface.

The documentary served as yet another reminder as to why we need to embrace risk if we are going to live responsibly.  Human beings living in the material world require a built environment.  If we consider the human being relative to the other animals, humans are quite needy with regard to socially appropriate infrastructure.  I found myself appreciating the challenges we face with regard to resources anew as the documentary framed our human societies within the context of fault lines.  Additionally, I encountered a lot more human ingenuity than I thought possible.

Anyways, I’m trying to make a 0700 start time for a session at my conference so I had best get going.

3 responses

  1. I’d never heard that about fault lines, and the connection to the need to embrace risk is interesting. Yours? National Geographic’s?

    22 June 2010 at 6:56 am

    • National Geographic fell more on the conclusion that we tend to do risky things despite the risk.

      I tend to fall more in the place that humans need to embrace risk.

      22 June 2010 at 12:58 pm

  2. Rhea

    “The documentary served as yet another reminder as to why we need to embrace risk if we are going to live responsibly.”

    Me likey.

    25 June 2010 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

