"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

On conferencing

Academics are funny people in that we like to get together and listen to ourselves pontificate about assorted topics.  This time, I have the added dimension of presenting a paper of my own.  I like the idea of coming as an intellectual contributor but I have details running through the back of my mind that make it hard to concentrate.

I always get a kick out of the presenters at conferences.  It seems nearly all of us work on our slides right to the last possible moment.  However, as my own presentation details two years of my own work, I appreciate the challenge of fitting my thoughts into 15 minutes or so.  I definitely need to spend some time tomorrow finding the time lag on the presentation so as to get it very safely within the window allocated.

One nice thing is that my research group also has a lot of presentations.  In addition to my paper, I have provided input to another graduate student’s paper, a postdoctoral research associate’s paper, and my advisor’s paper (mileage may vary).  But it’s interesting to come to a conference where we are here as a group to add to the conversation.

I’m used to the pace of conferences.  At least I have attended several conferences to their fullness.  But engaging in research-related concerns for 12 hours a day is quite overwhelming, particularly when everything else is going on.  I’m trying to hold in and get to other interesting talks.  At least this conference publishes all of its proceedings so you have a chance to explore some of the ideas further.  Lots of overlap and things start early.

And speaking of starting early, I’m off to bed for another day of academic craziness. Cheers.

One response

  1. I’m headed off to a tech conference, sounds similar, though we don’t present papers, mostly case studies and usually have an hour.

    This time I’m not taking a laptop, so I’ll have to be done with my presentation long before I get on a plane.

    21 June 2010 at 11:26 pm

Leave a Reply

