"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

A Sight to Behold!

Blogger’s note: Today’s offerings come from the Vespers of St Thomas Sunday. I particularly appreciated these hymns relative to the cries of “Consume me not, O my Creator!” and “Lord I believe; help my unbelief!”

What miraculous wonder, that grass should touch fire and be safe: for Thomas cast his hand into the fire of the side of Jesus Christ God, and was not consumed by touching him. Verily, the obstinate soul turned with fervour to true faith, and he shouted from the depth of his spirit, Thou art my Master and my God who didst rise from the dead. Glory to thee.

How great is the multitude of thine infinite compassion, O Lover of mankind; for because of thy long-suffering thou wast struck by the Jews, wast examined by an Apostle, and deeply probed by those who denied thee. How wast thou incarnated? How wast thou crucified, O thou who hast not possessed sin? Albeit, make us understand, as Thomas, that we may call out to thee, My Lord and my God, glory to thee.

Leave a Reply

