"The glory of God is man fully alive, and the life of man is the vision of God." -St Irenaeus of Lyon

In Praise of the Resurrection

Blogger’s note: These lines are taken from a much longer hymn of praise, the Akathist to the Resurrection.

Jesus, Conqueror of death, conquer my evil passions!
Jesus, Giver of life, grant me the life of salvation!
Jesus, source of joy, gladden my heart with Thy truth!
Jesus, Who didst feed five thousand men with five loaves of bread, feed me with the bread of Heaven!
Jesus, hope of the fallen, rescue me from the pit of my vices!
Risen Jesus, resurrect our souls!

Leave a Reply

